UPDATE: Petruzielo Names Members to Safety Committee

The standing committee was named last week by Dr. Frank Petruzielo and will include district staff members, local law enforcement agencies and members of the community.

The Cherokee County School District has released the names of those who will serve on its Ad Hoc Safety and Security Committee. 

County Superintendent of Schools Dr. Frank Petruzielo announced the committee's formation last week.

Mark Kissel, chief of the Cherokee County School District Police Department, will serve as the committee chair.  

District staff member serving on the committee are: 

  • Dr. Brian Hightower, assistant superintendent, School Operations
  • Barbara Jacoby, director, Public Information, Communications and Partnerships
  • Mike McGowan, supervisor, Strategic Planning
  • Kenneth Owen, supervisor, Internal Audits, Grants Accounting and Budgets
  • Christian Kirby, principal, Little River ES 
  • Beth Long, principal, Clayton ES
  • Debra Murdock, principal, Cherokee HS
  • Bill Sebring, principal, Woodstock HS
  • Mark Smith, principal, Woodstock MS
  • Dr. Susan Zinkil, principal, Teasley MS

All Cherokee County law enforcement agencies will be represented on the committee: 

  • Roger Garrison, Cherokee County sheriff 
  • Dana E. Davis, chief of the Ball Ground Police Department
  • Robert Merchant, chief of the Canton Police Department
  • Ken Ball, chief of the Holly Springs Police Department    
  • Calvin W. Moss, chief of the Woodstock Police Department

Members of the community who will serve on the committee include Adam Belanger, who serves on the Holly Springs PTA; Sharon Booz of the Woodstock High School PTA; and Debi Radcliff of Safe Kids Cherokee County.

The committee will meet before the Cherokee County School Board's Jan. 17 meeting to brief school board members with additional information.

The district last month announced it will work with local law enforcement agencies to provide enhanced protection at each one of its school campuses in the wake of the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting in Newtown, Conn., that left 26 people, including 18 children dead.

The Cherokee County Sheriff's Office last week also announced it would continue its increased presence at district schools until the end of the school year. 

jeff January 09, 2013 at 05:48 PM
Until we can remove all “Gun Free Zones” (aka victim enrichment zones) from law, I say the best, most efficient, and most humane thing we can do is allow school employees to use State Law 16-11-127.1(c)(6). Under that code section, permission can be granted to school employees by an official of the school to carry a firearm. Some schools in Georgia are already using this law.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »